Banding together for Peaceful Social Justice for all people.


An out of service toilet in a Detroit school. In his inaugural speech, the newly installed President of the United States made the following comment: “An education system flush with cash, but which leaves our young and beautiful students deprived of all knowledge”. Incensed, I immediately wanted to share my thoughts about these mean-spirited, belittling words–but I couldn’t. Because I was in Grand Rapids at the Michigan Music Conference (MMC), an annual professional development conference for our state’s 2500 music teachers. I look forward to the MMC each year as a place to reconnect with my former students and colleagues across the state, to learn some new strategies that I hope will help me to become a better teacher, and to recharge and reinvigorate my passion for music teaching. I’m never disappointed. And I always leave in awe of the dedication and talents of these committed professionals. But in the aftermath of the President’s comments, my admiration for these teachers is even

Source: Flush this, Mr. President | Eclectablog

Leave a Reply

Occupy Democrats

Banding together for Peaceful Social Justice for all people.

All Nudist

Everything about the Nudist/Naturist lifestyle

Prisoner Activist

News, reports and advocacy resources on criminal justice and prison reform

Maninblue1947's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Buttry Diary

Steve Buttry, Dearly Departed Husband, Father and Grandfather. Former Director of Student Media, LSU's Manship School of Mass Communication

NewsFeed

Breaking news and updates from Time.com. News pictures, video, Twitter trends.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

